Michael Haneke's 'Amour' Leads European Film Awards Nominations

AmourThe European Film Academy unveiled its nominees for the 2012 European Film Awards over the weekend at Spain's Seville European Film Festival, with Michael Haneke's Palme d'Or winner Amour receiving noms in six categories including Best Film and Best Director. Also in the group is worldwide box office smash Intouchables, Thomas Vinterberg's The Hunt, currently playing at L.A.'s AFI Fest, Barbara, Caesar Must Die and Shame, which had its roll-out last year Stateside.

The 2012 European Film Awards Nominations with information provided by organizers:

European Film 2012:

Amour (Love), written & directed by Michael Haneke, Produced by Margaret Menegoz, Stefan Arndt, Veit Heiduschka & Michael Katz, Austria/France/Germany, 127 min

Barbara, Written & Directed by Christian Petzold, Produced by Florian Koerner von Gustorf & Michael Weber, Germany, 105 min

Cesare Deve Morire (Caesar Must Die), Directed by Paolo & Vittorio Taviani, written by Paolo & Vittorio Taviani, in collaboration with Fabio Cavalli, Produced by Grazia Volpi, Italy, 76 min

Intouchables (Untouchable), Written & Directed by Olivier Nakache & Eric Toledano, Produced by Nicolas Duval Adassovsky, Yann Zenou & Laurent Zeitoun, France, 108 min

Jagten (The Hunt), Directed by Thomas Vinterberg, Written by Thomas Vinterberg & Tobias Lindholm, Produced by Morten Kaufmann & Sisse Graum Jørgensen
, Denmark, 111 min

Shame, Directed by Steve McQueen, Written by Steve McQueen & Abi Morgan, Produced by Iain Canning & Emile Sherman, UK, 96 min

European Director 2012:
Nuri Bilge Ceylan for Bir Zamanlar Anadolu'da (Once Upon a Time in Anatolia)

Michael Haneke for Amour (Love)

Steve McQueen for Shame
Paolo & Vittorio Taviani for Cesare Deve Morire (Caesar Must Die)
Thomas Vinterberg for Jagten (The Hunt)

European Actress 2012:

Emilie Dequenne in A Perdre La Raison (Our Children)

Nina Hoss in Barbara

Emmanuelle Riva in Amour (Love)

Margarethe Tiesel in Paradies: Liebe (Paradise: Love)

Kate Winslet in Carnage

European Actor 2012:

François Cluzet & Omar Sy in Intouchables (Untouchable)

Michael Fassbender in Shame

Mads Mikkelsen in Jagten (The Hunt)

Gary Oldman in Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
Jean-Louis Trintignant in Amour (Love)

European Screenwriter 2012:

Michael Haneke for Amour (Love)

Tobias Lindholm & Thomas Vinterberg for Jagten (The Hunt)

Cristian Mungiu for Dupa Dealuri (Beyond the Hills)

Olivier Nakache & Eric Toledano for Intouchables (Untouchable)

Roman Polanski & Yasmina Reza for Carnage

Carlo Di Palma European Cinematographer Award 2012:

Sean Bobbitt for Shame
Bruno Delbonnel for Faust

Darius Khondji for Amour (Love)

Gökhan Tiryaki for Bir Zamanlar Anadula'Da (Once Upon a Time in Anatolia)

Hoyte Van Hoytema for Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

European Editor 2012:

Janus Billeskov Jansen & Anne Østerud for Jagten (The Hunt)

Roberto Perpignani for Cesare Deve Morire (Caesar Must Die)

Joe Walker for Shame

European Production Designer 2012: 

Maria Djurkovic for Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
Niels Sejer for En Kongelig Affaere (A Royal Affair)

Elena Zhukova for Faust

European Composer 2012:

Cyrille Aufort & Gabriel Yared for En Kongelig Affaere(A Royal Affair)

François Couturier for Io Sono Li (Shun Li and the Poet)

George Fenton for The Angels' Share
Alberto Iglesias for Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy


  • lilibartley says:

    It's all about 'the Hunt' and Mads Mikkelsen for me. Superb film, wonderful actor showing his range(he was the 'baddie' in Bond, here he's a gentle soul). It gets my vote!