Totally Random Juries Hand Out Tribeca 2010 Hardware


Jessica Alba took the night off from her fiery culinary adventures to join the rest of the Tribeca Film Festival's random jurors on awards night. The festival handed out more than $150,000 in cash prizes to an international array of filmmakers, with the German entry When We Leave picking up the top narrative award and additional hardware for best actress Sibel Kekilli. The superb relationship drama-surveillance thriller (really!) Monogamy won the prize for Best New York Narrative; watch for it if/when it comes to a festival/theater near you. The full list of winners is after the jump -- congrats to all.

Best Narrative Feature: When We Leave (Die Fremde), directed and written by Feo Aladag

Special Jury Mention: Loose Cannons, directed by Ferzan Ozpetek

Best New Narrative Filmmaker: Kim Chapiron for Dog Pound

Best Actor in a Narrative Feature Film: Eric Elmosnino as Serge Gainsbourg in Gainsbourg, Je t'Aime...Moi Non Plus

Best Actress in a Narrative Feature Film: Sibel Kekilli as Umay in When We Leave

Best Documentary Feature: Monica & David, directed by Alexandra Codina

Special Jury Mention: Budrus directed by Julia Bacha (USA, Palestine, Israel).

Best New Documentary Filmmaker: Clio Barnard for The Arbor

Best New York Narrative: Monogamy, directed by Dana Adam Shapiro, written by Dana Adam Shapiro and Evan M. Weiner

Special Jury Mention: Melissa Leo for her performance in The Space Between, directed and written by Travis Fine

Best New York Documentary: The Woodmans, directed by C. Scott Willis

Best Narrative Short: Father Christmas Doesn't Come Here, directed by Bekhi Sibiya

Special Jury Mention: The Crush, directed and written by Michael Creagh. (Ireland).

Best Documentary Short: White Lines & The Fever: The Death of DJ Junebug, directed and written by Travis Senger

Special Jury Mention: Out of Infamy: Michi Nishiura Weglyn, directed and written by Nancy Kapitanoff, Sharon Yamato

Student Visionary Award: some boys don't leave, directed by Maggie Kiley

Special Jury Mention: The Pool Party, directed and written by Sara Zandieh

Tribeca Film Festival VIRTUAL Best Feature Film: Spork, directed and written by J.B. Ghuman, Jr.

Tribeca Film Festival VIRTUAL Best Short Film: Delilah, Before, directed by Melanie Schiele