Tomorrow's Darlings Today: SXSW Announces 2010 Winners


Congratulations to this year's award-winners at South by Southwest, where Movieline watched from afar as director-actor Lena Dunham's self-discovery dramedy Tiny Furniture (right) took the fest's top prize. Read on for more works by Guy Maddin (Night Mayor), Gaspar Noe (Enter the Void) and a spectrum of up-and-coming titles hopefully heading soon to an art house/DVD distributor/cable box near you.

Best Narrative Feature

Winner: Tiny Furniture

Best Documentary Feature

Winner: Marwencol

Runner-up: War Don Don

Special Jury Awards

Best Ensemble: Myth of the American Sleepover

Best Individual Performance: Brian Hasenfus in Phillip the Fossil

Audience Awards

Documentary Feature: For Once in My Life

Narrative Feature: Brotherhood

Narrative Shorts

Winner: Cigarette Candy

Runner-up: Teleglobal Dreamin'

Documentary Shorts

Winner: Quadrangle

Runner-up: White Lines and The Fever: The Death of DJ Junebug

Animated Shorts

Winner: The Orange

Runner-up: One Square Mile of Earth

Experimental Shorts

Winner: Night Mayor

Runner-up: Kids Might Fly

Music Videos

Winner: Cinnamon Chasers, Luv Deluxe

Runner-up: Grizzly Bear, Forest

Texas Shorts

Winner: Petting Sharks

Runner-up: The Big Bends

SXSW Special Awards

SXSW Wholphin Winner: Amy Grappell, director, Quadrangle

SXSW Chicken & Egg Emergent Narrative Woman Director Award Winner: Lena Dunham for Tiny Furniture

Special Award - The Chicken & Egg Pictures "We Believe in You" Award: Martha Stephens for Passenger Pigeons

Excellence in Poster Design

Winner: Feeder

Runner-up: Amer

Audience Award Winner: Richard Garriott: Man on a Mission

Special Jury Award: Equestrian Sexual Response

Excellence in Title Design

Winner: Zombieland

Runner-up: earthwork

Audience Award Winner: earthwork

Special Jury Award: Enter the Void